Notre Dame College Medal

Notre Dame College Medal Awarded to Retiring President at Campus Ceremony

Notre Dame College will award its highest honor, the 2014 Notre Dame College Medal, to its retiring President Andrew P. Roth, Ph.D., during a campus ceremony Saturday, June 7.

The event begins with cocktails at 6 p.m., followed by the dinner and program at 7 p.m. in the Keller Center. Individual and group tickets, as well as sponsorship and advertising opportunities, are available to salute the 13th president in the College's 91-year history.

Roth has served since July 2003. He retires June 30, 2014.

Since Roth's arrival at Notre Dame just over a decade ago, the College has attained numerous milestones in enrollment, student diversity, fundraising, employment, campus facilities, academic programs and athletics.

As the president of the College, Roth also has ensured Notre Dame adheres to the values of its founders, the Sisters of Notre Dame, and to the College's mission of serving the underserved, particularly students with learning differences and those in need of financial aid.

Before becoming president of Notre Dame, Roth served as an administrator and tenured faculty member at Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pa.

A self-described “lifelong learner,” Roth has a doctorate in public policy and higher education finance from the State University of New York at Buffalo, an MBA in marketing and strategic planning from Gannon University, an M.A. in English from Case Western Reserve University and a B.A. in English and history from John Carroll University.

The Notre Dame Medal is awarded annually to an alumnus or alumna, friend of the College or civic leader in the Greater Cleveland community who exemplifies the values of the College. Recipients must demonstrate personal, professional and global responsibility through community service.

Roth is the seventh recipient of the Notre Dame College Medal, which was first awarded in 2008 to civic leader Sam Miller. The 2009 medal was presented to the Most Reverend Anthony M. Pilla, bishop emeritus of the Diocese of Cleveland; the 2010 award to Anthony C. and Donna Kelly Rego, the first couple to receive the medal for their philanthropy and community service; the 2011 medal to the late philanthropist and civic leader Carl D. Glickman; the 2012 honor to civic and community activist Beth E. Mooney; and the 2013 recipient was the Sisters of Notre Dame.

The College offers sponsorship opportunities as well as individual and group tickets to the medal dinner in honor of Roth. Funds raised go directly toward the support of Notre Dame students and programs.

For further information about how to become a program sponsor, contact Maureen Ischay, executive director of development, at 216.373.5335 or mischay@ndc.edu.