Notre Dame College Recognizes Retiring President with Highest Honor, Video Tribute

Notre Dame College has awarded its highest honor, the 2014 Notre Dame College Medal, to Andrew P. Roth, Ph.D., and recognized its 13th president with a video tribute.

About 300 friends of the College, including government officials, community members, trustees, faculty, staff and students, saluted Roth with two separate standing ovations during the recent Medal dinner ceremony on campus.

Roth received the medal from United States Magistrate Judge Kathy Burke, a former College Board of Trustees chair; Marilyn Cunin, College trustee emeritus and former board chair; and Ann Hawkins, current member of the College board.

Also at the event, South Euclid, Ohio, Mayor Georgine Welo presented Roth with a key to the city and the Cuyahoga County City Council issued him an official proclamation.

Roth retires from the College June 30 after 11 years as president.



Since Roth's arrival at Notre Dame just over a decade ago, the College has attained numerous milestones in enrollment, student diversity, fundraising, employment, campus facilities, academic programs and athletics.

As the president of the College, Roth also has ensured Notre Dame adheres to the values of its founders, the Sisters of Notre Dame, and to the College's mission of serving the underserved, particularly students with learning differences and those in need of financial aid.

Before becoming president of Notre Dame, Roth served as an administrator and tenured faculty member at Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pa.

A self-described “lifelong learner,” Roth has a doctorate in public policy and higher education finance from the State University of New York at Buffalo, an MBA in marketing and strategic planning from Gannon University, an M.A. in English from Case Western Reserve University and a B.A. in English and history from John Carroll University.

The Notre Dame Medal is awarded annually to an alumnus or alumna, friend of the College or civic leader in the Greater Cleveland community who exemplifies the values of the College. Recipients must demonstrate personal, professional and global responsibility through community service.

Roth is the seventh recipient of the Notre Dame College Medal, which was first awarded in 2008 to civic leader Sam Miller. The 2009 medal was presented to the Most Reverend Anthony M. Pilla, bishop emeritus of the Diocese of Cleveland; the 2010 award to Anthony C. and Donna Kelly Rego, the first couple to receive the medal for their philanthropy and community service; the 2011 medal to the late philanthropist and civic leader Carl D. Glickman; the 2012 honor to civic and community activist Beth E. Mooney; and the 2013 recipient was the Sisters of Notre Dame.


June 23
4:30 PM
Saturday June 23, 4:30pm
Christ the King Chapel, 3rd Floor Admin Bldg.
E.g., 06/23/18
E.g., 06/23/18