Notre Dame to Join GLIAC in Four Sports

Notre Dame College and the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) announced Wednesday that Notre Dame will become a conference member in football and three other sports in 2012-13.

The Falcons will compete as GLIAC members in football, men's and women's soccer, and wrestling beginning next fall. The GLIAC currently includes five other Ohio schools -- Ashland University, the University of Findlay, Lake Erie College, Ohio Dominican University and Tiffin University. In most sports, including football, the highly successful circuit is split into two divisions, North and South. Notre Dame will compete as a member of the South Division.

“The GLIAC is excited to have Notre Dame College as an affiliate member in the sports of football, men's and women's soccer, and wrestling,” said GLIAC Commissioner Dell Robinson. “This partnership will help enhance the student-athlete experience for both NDC and the GLIAC, while strengthening these four sports at regional and national levels. The GLIAC is looking forward to establishing a great relationship with Notre Dame College.”

Over the years, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference teams have garnered 12 NCAA-II national championships and 60 individual national titles. In the last decade alone, GLIAC-member programs have won 159 regional and super-regional titles.

“We are delighted to have the opportunity to participate with peer institutions in the GLIAC,” said Notre Dame College President Dr. Andrew P. Roth. “We feel it is a good fit for our athletic programs in many ways. The spirit of healthy competition, the respect for high-caliber sportsmanship, and the priority placed on the ‘student’ part of our student-athletes complement our College's mission of preparing students for personal, professional and global responsibility. We eagerly anticipate beginning conference competition.”

Notre Dame's football, soccer and wrestling programs currently compete as independents. Overall, NDC sponsors 24 varsity collegiate athletic teams. In 2010-11, the College is in its provisional year in the NCAA membership process, which was initiated in 2008.

I Chose Division IIThat same year Notre Dame announced it would add football as a varsity sport; in football the Falcons have gone 7-15 in their first two varsity seasons. The College has had women's soccer since 1995, men's soccer since 2001 and wrestling since 2006.

The NDC Men's Soccer and Wrestling programs have each earned national acclaim in recent years.

In men's soccer, Notre Dame has gone 42-1 over the last two seasons. In 2010, the team advanced to the championship game of the NAIA National Tournament.

On the mats, the Wresting Falcons won back-to-back NAIA national championships the last two seasons, and individually seven wrestlers have won titles in the program's short history.

All four NDC programs joining the GLIAC will be included in conference scheduling beginning with the 2012 fall sports season.

In addition to moving forward with GLIAC membership in the four sports, Notre Dame is pursuing full membership for all its varsity NCAA-sanctioned athletic teams.

“Notre Dame is looking forward to membership in this conference,” said NDC Athletic Director Dr. John P. Galovic. “The GLIAC has a reputation for being a very competitive conference and a leader in the promotion of intercollegiate athletics for men and women. We're pleased to have the opportunity to join such a conference.”

Notre Dame College is located in South Euclid, Ohio, a suburb of Cleveland. The College was founded in 1922 as a private, Catholic, four-year liberal arts institution for women. In 2001, NDC admitted men, paving the way for record growth through the addition of new academic programs and an expansion of athletic programs.

The GLIAC conducts championships in 21 sports, 11 for men and 10 for women. Founded in 1972, the GLIAC has been a leader in the advancement and promotion of intercollegiate athletics for men and women for 40 years. The league boasts 14 full members, nine of which are located in Michigan, in addition to five in Ohio. The GLIAC's members in Michigan include Ferris State University, Grand Valley State University, Hillsdale College, Lake Superior State University, Michigan Technological University, Northern Michigan University, Northwood University, Saginaw Valley State University and Wayne State University.


May 28
11:30 AM
Monday May 28, 11:30am
Christ the King Chapel, 3rd Floor Admin Bldg.
E.g., 06/27/18
E.g., 06/27/18